Tags

, , , , , , ,

This town has been a school in acts of generosity for us thus far. The list of kind things which have happened to us since we have arrived here is very long. It is not lost on me that there are lessons, not just happy blessings, to take from all of it. 

I have started to buy eggs from a lovely lady who lives a few minutes drive from me. She has an organic garden and happy free ranging chooks; and we all know there’s nothing like cheery bright yolks of fresh farm eggs.

This week, when I picked up my eggs, I was presented with a big handful of freshly picked roses from her garden and a broad smile.

Beautiful pink roses that were kindly given to me.

These beauties made my day and have lit up my kitchen for many days more.

This lady’s kindness and generosity astound me. I don’t pay a lot for the eggs, yet even the first time I picked some up from her, she gave me fresh picked little iceberg lettuce from her veggie patch. I came home and made the best egg and lettuce sandwiches I’ve ever had for lunch.

I was a complete stranger, and yet she was just generous and kind anyway. Beautiful.

All this has made me think about the generosity that tending to a garden allows. It has seemed like a bit of a difficult concept to me in the past. Too hard basket. I suppose that is to be expected because culturally we are pretty detached from that, with convenience and supermarkets and buying rather than growing everything (or anything) all the time.

It’s a really beautiful thing to be able to share the fruits (and flowers) of your labour. It is a lesson in both abundance and enough. Even with my very limited previous experience in gardening I see that  in good seasons there just is abundance, absolutely more than enough, which can be produced.

And that ‘more than enough’ strikes me as something special… It’s a little unheard of in consumer-land. Isn’t it?

Our reaping-of-someone-else’s-labour orange tree has, just this season, produced kilos upon kilos upon kilos of zingy fresh fruit. So much we could never eat it all, so much that we have given away probably 100kg (no joke) of oranges and still had enough for our own family. Nonetheless, a quick drive around here shows are a lot of orange trees heavy laden with completely untouched and unshared fruit.

I am friends with the lovely egg lady on facebook. I saw the day she gave me the flowers she had posted a picture of her in-bloom flower patch with the caption ‘…ready for sharing…’

And as for me? I think I need to take up gardening…. I clearly have a lot more to learn.

